The Beauty Questions

Happy Valentines Day/Saturday everyone! Hope you all have a wonderful day, whatever you might be doing. Inspired by the beautiful Megan, I’ve decided to fill these in!

How many times do you wash your face daily?
Only in the evening, when I double cleanse. I don’t touch my face in the morning, after reading this advice from the ageless, gorgeous Salma Hayek!

What skin type do you have?
Combination.

What is your current face wash?
I’ve just started using The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Oil, which I follow with The Body Shop Seaweed Deep Cleansing Facial Wash.

Do you exfoliate?
Yes, 2 or 3 times a week…I use Bliss Pore Perfecting Facial Polish, which is a great product for brightening your skin and brushing away any dead cells.

What moisturiser do you use?
La Roche Posay Rosaliac during the day and Vichy Idealia Smoothing & Illuminating Cream at night.

Do you have freckles?
Yes and I love them! They invade my whole body when the sun comes out.

Do you use eye cream?
I use Manuka Doctor ApiNourish Age Defying Eye Cream.

Did you or do you have acne prone skin?
I do still get a couple of spots around my chin most months, which is so annoying! I wasn’t expecting to still have them at 26…

What foundation do you use?
Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation in Porcelain. I plan on switching to something a little lighter once Spring comes around.

How about concealer?
Diorskin Nude Skin-Perfecting Hydrating Concealer. This one lasts for ages and works fantastically on tired eyes or a pesky spot!

Do you know your undertone colour?
Cool.

What do you think of fake eyelashes?
I am itching to find some natural looking ones which aren’t a complete nightmare to apply! Suggestions are very much welcome 🙂

Did you know that you are supposed to change your mascara every 3 months?
I didn’t!

Sephora or MAC?
MAC, solely because I’ve not tried Sephora yet. The Prep & Prime Face Protect primer is brilliant and I need to buy myself another bottle very soon.

What makeup tools do you use for makeup application?
Fingers for foundation, brushes for eyeshadow/liner and a big brush to blend in bronzer/blusher. I apply lipstick straight from the bullet.

Do you use a makeup base/primer for the eyes?
I don’t currently but have just purchased a new eye primer product, which will be reviewed on here very soon 🙂

For the face?
Only occasionally; I use the MAC Prep & Prime Face Protect (as mentioned above).

What is your favourite eyeshadow shade?
I love a pearly gold to bring out my eyes but the Bobbi Brown Sparkle eyeshadows (all of them!) are my absolute favourites.

Do you use pencil or liquid eyeliner?
I use liquid eyeliner for a bold 60s eye but pencil is better for a smudgey, smokey look.

How often do you poke your eyes with a pencil eyeliner?
A couple of times a month. I am currently very tempted to try the Colour Chameleon pencils by Charlotte Tilbury!

What do you think of pigment eyeshadows?
They give a great look but are pretty messy.

What do you think of mineral makeup?
I had Gaya Mineral Foundation tested on me a few months ago and do regret not purchasing one…this will probably be my Spring/Summer foundation.

What is your favourite lipstick?
Kate Moss for Rimmel: Lasting Finish Lipstick in 03. This is a wonderful, natural shade which looks great with a more dramatic eye. For a statement lip, I love Cherry Lush by Tom Ford.

Do you like drugstore makeup?
Absolutely. There are some fantastic new brands like Makeup Revolution popping up, which have really impressed me.

Did you ever consider taking makeup classes?
I would love to! I was considering the Illamasqua classes in Soho a couple of years ago and still might do this in the future.

Are you clumsy in putting on makeup?
Sometimes! I find bold lipstick quite tricky and usually have to take my time in putting it on.

Name a makeup crime that you hate
OTT eyebrows (i.e. badly tattooed ones).

Do you like colourful shades or makeup?
Hmmm….both!

Which celebrities always have great makeup?
Liv Tyler, Eva Green, Lana del Rey and Diane Kruger always have impeccable makeup.

If you could leave the house wearing just one makeup item, what would you choose?
Mascara!

Could you leave the house without putting any makeup on?
I do now and again but it does depend on where I’m going 😉

In your opinion, what’s the BEST beauty line?
It’s difficult to choose one. Bobbi Brown is generally a high performing brand but I also love others, like Barry M (for nails) and Charlotte Tilbury.

Lastly, what do you think of makeup?
I LOVE makeup!

Leave a Reply

