Summer survival

“I hate sunshine so much. I can only cope with it when it’s bitterly, bitterly cold.” Alison Mosshart (via London Evening Standard)

As many of my UK readers will know, we’re heading into a heatwave (according to the Met Office). Great news if you’re a sun worshipper but what of those of us who aren’t?

Although most of my family tan well, the Irish genetics must have an upper hand, as my pale skin simply amasses an extra coating of freckles when I spend a day out in the hot sun. I generally look like a white cappuccino with chocolate powder sprinkled lazily on top. I fought with this for years, sunbathing when I didn’t particularly want to (always with SPF on!) and religiously applying fake tan a couple of times a week. These days, I’m quite happy to cover up and keep cool in the shade; I accept that my skin is easily irritated by heat and deserves to be protected.

A few of my summer essentials are:

  • SPF 25 or 30 on my body and SPF 50 on my face
  • Bias cut maxi skirts; breathable and elegant for daytime heat.
  • Ray Ban Wayfarer sunglasses
  • Lots and lots of water
  • Estrella! Tastes best when in Barcelona.

What are your thoughts on more extreme summer heat, do you like to sunbathe or are you happier to loll in the shade? Any tips on keeping cool would also be welcome!

Laura xx

Leave a Reply

