Holiday skincare

If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram, you may know that I’ve just spent a week in Croatia. To my delight, we basked in sunny weather every single day; it seemed more like summer than early autumn! I plan to write a separate travel blog post but thought I’d let you know how I looked after my skin in the hot weather.

Screenshot 2015-10-03 at 4.59.48 PM

La Roche Posay Anthelios Oil – SPF 50

I won this beautiful sunscreen a few weeks ago, from a La Roche Posay Twitter competition. It was timely, as I’ve been looking for a high SPF product for a while now! The oil is extremely light and easy to absorb.

Screenshot 2015-10-03 at 5.07.46 PM

I used this on particularly delicate areas of my skin, like my neck and decolletage. On a hot day scaling the city walls of Dubrovnik, a local guy commented on how fair-skinned I am; the product clearly works! You can use a fairly small amount when applying; it needs to be massaged fully into the skin. I was surprised that the oil isn’t at all greasy and has a very light, pleasant fragrance. It didn’t aggravate my skin, unlike other sunscreens I’ve tried in the past, so I’m very impressed.

Rating: 10/10

Ultrasun Anti-Ageing Sun Cream for Sensitive Skin – SPF 30

I bought this product just before my holiday, as I was looking for a daily moisturiser with at least SPF 30 to protect my skin. It applies well and although it seems thick at first, the cream is easy to rub into your face.

Screenshot 2015-10-03 at 5.17.01 PM

I didn’t burn at all on my face and was pleasantly surprised that one application lasts for a day. It sits well under makeup however, I would prefer a slightly more matte effect, as my t-zone was a little bit too shiny. Overall, it’s a good value day cream, which doubles up as a medium level SPF.

Rating: 7/10

Vichy Ideal Soleil Stick – SPF 50

This nifty little product has been in my makeup bag for a couple of months now; I love it. It’s ideal for quick application on the face, either alone or on top of any previously applied sun cream. It doesn’t give a greasy finish and was perfect for impromptu sunbathing sessions, whenever I spied a secluded spot on the coast! I used the stick on my lips, nose and around my eyes.

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

