Bourjois Happy Light Base Serum & Healthy Mix Foundation – Reviews

DSC_1084

Although I’m planning on ordering some Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation, I thought I’d try out some new foundation for weekdays (am I the only one who begrudges using my “best” foundation for work?). I’d read about the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in Sali Hughes’ excellent article and found it in Boots, where they were offering two Bourjois products for £14. Lo and behold, I ended up buying the Happy Light Base Serum primer, as well!

The primer: peachy tone, refreshing and a slightly soapy smell.
The primer: peachy tone, refreshing and a slightly soapy smell.
DSC_1086
The foundation: shade Light Vanilla

The primer applies easily and is a very good mattifying product. I used it on my t-zone and after leaving to set for a couple of minutes, I noticed that my skin looked balanced and less shiny in those areas. Don’t be put off by the peach colour; it is colour-free when applied to the face and feels cooling to the skin. Other than the smell, which is a bit soapy and not to my taste, it’s a good primer.

The key with this foundation is to use a small amount, to very slowly build up coverage. On my first application, I pumped a generous amount onto my hand and found that I had more than I needed for full coverage. I now use my Real Techniques stippling brush to apply a small amount at a time; this gives a nice lift to my complexion and acts as a complement to the skin. I can already see a gap in the bottle, after only using for 3 days, so I’m not sure about the longevity of this product (it’s been my experience that drugstore brand foundations do seem to run out quickly).

I’m pleased with my purchases and think they’re great value, especially for everyday use! Have you tried Bourjois products before?

Rating: 8/10

Leave a Reply

