Dressing to suit ME

This summer has left me slightly uninspired, in fashion terms. The Bardot top craze was nice enough (I find shoulders to be such a graceful part of the body) but summer dressing is often tough. Or, is it just me?

On one shopping trip, I tried on 5 or 6 camisoles. They looked beautiful on the hangers but gave no definition to the waist when worn and basically hung straight down from my bust. I looked like a box with legs.

I’m slowly learning how to dress for my body. There are no rules about what we should and shouldn’t wear but I personally feel better if I’m wearing clothes that fit well and suit my shape. Fashion comes and goes. I remember impulse buying a bomber jacket, which made me look like one of the Mitchell Brothers…

We live and learn.

Screenshot 2016-08-13 at 2.50.33 PM.png

Screenshot 2016-08-13 at 2.52.40 PMScreenshot 2016-08-13 at 2.54.43 PM.png

So, here are some recent purchases. A pencil skirt is classic and more flattering than a skater or mini, if you’re petite and hourglass (same as myself). The top is from New Look; I like it so much that I bought the burgundy and black versions too. It fits closely to the body and is fantastic if you’re fuller busted. Finally, I can never resist nude and functional shoes, these are beyond comfortable and give some extra leg length.

Top of my wishlist for flattering clothes is The Vampire’s Wife – slowly saving up for the emerald green dress!

I’d love to hear from you ladies. Which clothes make you feel like you can take on the world?

Laura xx

Leave a Reply

