Things to start doing in Autumn/Fall

Autumn and spring may be my favourite seasons; they express gentle promise of the months ahead, without the extremities of winter or summer. Whereas spring inspires us to get outside, autumn can be a great time of year to get cosy and have fun indoors. This is what I’ll be getting up to:

Making Christmas cards 

I’ve made my own Christmas cards for the past couple of years and it’s become a tradition in itself! I love it. Blank cards are inexpensive and I’m looking forward to an afternoon spent creating, fueled with a pot of good coffee.

Infusing booze

I made some killer blackberry vodka last year and for 2016, my chosen infusion will be raspberry and mint gin (recipe from Pinterest here). It’s ideal to make your own liqueur round about now, so it can be ready to enjoy at Christmas.

Clearing out

One of my winter projects will be to sell on, or give away the majority of my books, CDs and DVDs. Logic has brought me here. I do not own a CD player. Books are a nightmare to move from house to house. I rarely watch DVDs these days. Ask yourself if all your possessions are necessary and if not, why not lighten your load in life?

Baking

Let’s face it, for most of us, it’s too bloody hot in Summer to bake. Cool, dark autumn evenings are a different kettle of fish altogether. I find baking therapeutic, whether I want to share food with my loved ones, or have a craving for (a massive pile of) scones. If you’re new, you can start with simple recipes and a small collection of baking equipment. I went through a phase a few years ago, of buying too much equipment; you really don’t need much to start baking!

Making a nest

Although I live in a rented flat with my boyfriend, there’s nothing to stop me making it snug and, yes, hygge. I find the easiest and most comforting fixes at this time of year are a heavy blanket on the sofa, plenty of candles and some soft loungewear.

What do you love about this time of year?

Laura xx

 

3 thoughts on “Things to start doing in Autumn/Fall

    1. That’s great, I think handmade cards are so nice to receive (and make!). I’d love to see what designs you come up with, I’m still thinking about which design to use.

      Like

Leave a Reply

