Becoming a vegetarian

DSC_0081
Cottage pie – green lentils in place of minced beef. It’s DIVINE. 

For a couple of months now, I have been seeking out and preparing vegetarian recipes. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time but hadn’t fully committed to; I’m now convinced it has been a great move for my health.

Why?
Mainly because I love animals and now struggle to eat meat without thinking of its source and of how the animal felt during its short life. Meat is also very expensive to buy and I have never enjoyed handling it when cooking.

My favourite recipes and some staple ingredients
Golden Veggie Shepherds Pie
Spinach, Sweet Potato and Lentil Dhal
Sweet Potato and Coconut Curry
Cauliflower Tikka Masala
Mediterranean Vegetable Casserole
Tuscan Bean and Barley Stew

The following items crop up regularly in my favourite recipes, so are good staple items:

Green and red lentils
Sweet potatoes
Red cabbage
Chillies
Peppers
Coconut milk
Ginger
Plenty of spices (garam masala, turmeric, cumin, etc)
Carrots
Celery
Tomato puree
Potatoes
Courgettes
Vegetable stock
Garlic
Cauliflower
Rice

The benefits
This will vary from person to person but I have noticed the following changes in myself:

  • weight loss
  • better digestion
  • healthy skin
  • increased energy

Practically, I have also noticed that food shopping bills are cheaper and I’m shopping less often, probably due to good meal planning.

Admittedly, cooking from scratch can be time consuming however, I have been making large batches of food from these recipes so I often have several portions left over to freeze. This week, I haven’t had to cook anything from scratch and have used up frozen meals – they are equally as delicious as when freshly cooked.

I’ve found this has really taught me how to cook and improved my quality of life. If you are vegetarian, what are your favourite meals to cook? I’m always looking for new recipes to try now!

Laura

Leave a Reply

